Week five at the university

Blog, Creativity, Scribbles

This last week I have been doing not one but six paintings, though I finished three. The assignment was to start out with 6-8 paintings and then finish 3-4 to present in the end of the week. I was encouraged to take photos of the prcess so here it goes…

Painting 1:

IMG_0468SIGN IMG_0469SIGN IMG_0472cropSIGN IMG_0483cropSIGN

This painting is not yet finished, I want to continue but for now I will keep in on hold. My thought is to make glowing flowers when it is finished. And ye, right, the teacher encouraged us all to experiment so in this painting I have used newspaper and spray paint^^

Painting 2:

IMG_0473SIGN IMG_0485cropSIGN IMG_0534cropfixsizeSIGN

So this is one of my finished paintings. I have got some criticism on this one… people seem to think that it has nice dept but that I should have choosen a different colour on the creatures, and then again they like the flowers and the simplicity of it, and then that I should work more with the background, and that it is nice as it is. There will always be people that think more than they should, but there in between it is good to listen to what people have to say. If you save the criticism that you think will help you in your creative process that can help you move forward. In my own defense though, this is the first time I actually try to paint my creatures…I cand raw them and stuff but to paint them properly with details and stuff is a bit more tricky and takes practise. Next time I will probably do it differently (it will be a next time for sure). But for now….. it feels good.

Painting 3:

IMG_0478SIGN IMG_0487cropSIGN IMG_0531cropfixsizeSIGN

Yes, I could not keep myself from painting a forest…. here as well as in the first one shown I have used spraypaint, it works well to give the impression of falling snow. This is one of my finished paintings. This was not so much up for discussion during the presentation. The presentation was somewhat a meeting where we were supposed to question the paintings. I mostly got nice and kind comments on this one, which I offcourse thank you all for. THANKS!

I like getting feed back on my work, to learn new tricks to use when painting, so as much as I appreciate all the nice comments I equally appreciate the criticism, that is how I evolve.

Painting 4:

IMG_0476SIGN IMG_0489SIGN IMG_0493SIGN IMG_0510SIGN

IMG_0528cropfixsizeSIGN

This sure was a experiment…. Notice how the canvas is turned, the (almost) trees became the stems. This is probably not something I would make, when I started out I was clueless to what I would paint, though it turned out to be one of the finished paintings. Since I was supposed to start out to paint 6 paintings I started this whole process by making collages with different colour schemes. The reason was not only to keep the paintings apart but I know how easy it is to just continue to use the same palette when painting, and to prevent the paintings to have the same exact colours I made these collages(just cut outs from newspapers and stuff).

Painting 5:

IMG_0490SIGN IMG_0498SIGN IMG_0499SIGN

This one is not finished. I used spraypaint and the sketch resembles an illustration from a childrens book, I don’t mind though, I would like to pull all my drawings and paintings towards illustration, would it not be awesome to write a book and to illustrate it? I think that is something I would like to accomplish in my lifetime. There are so many childrens books where they have to learn something about life, and sure that is great, but why can’t children just have fictional books/stories? Grown ups read for the fun of it, just enjoying a story, why can’t children? I can go at it for ages so I’ll stop here, since this post is about my week at the university 😉

 

So, anyhow, this week has been so much fun. I was stressed out monday, I have never before started out on 6 paintings at the same time, though it worked out well. and in the end I just felt relaxed to be painting again!

Next week I will be sketching, perhaps I will upoad a tease during the week just for the fun of it…. have a nice sunday !!!!

 

lea

Leave a Reply

